AMS 8100 / AMS 8150 Ex

The Application:
The Catalytic Zero-Air Generators AMS 8100 and AMS 8150 Ex are designed to produce hydrocarbon and carbon monoxide free Zero-Air. The main application of the AMS 8100 and AMS 8150 Ex are generation of hydrocarbon and carbon monoxide free burner and control air for FID and gas chromatographs.

The Catalytic Zero-Air Generators AMS 8100 and AMS 8150 Ex remove CO quantitatively from ambient air. This so-called Zero-Air can be used for zero-air corrections in CO analysers which are used for immission monitoring.

AMS 8100 / AMS 8150

The Catalyst:
The operating prinicple of the Catalytic Zero-Air generators AMS 8100 und AMS 8150 Ex is the catalytic oxidation. The catalyst consists of Pt / PD which is vapour deposited on granulated Aluminium oxide. In the catalytic reactor the catalyst is heated to ca. 400°C. Since this temperature is well below the ignition temperature of most hydrocarbons as well as Hydrogen and Carbon dioxide, the AMS Zero-Air Generator AMS 8100 and AMS 8150 Ex can also be operated in hazardous areas.

The Catalytic Reactor:
The granulated Catalyst is situated, tightly packed in a coiled metal tube and is heated with an infrared heater. Due to the specific geometry of the reactor the air is meandering through the granulated catalyst. The retention time of the designated Zero-Air in the catalytic reactor is most important. The Catalytic Zero-Air Generator AMS 8100 and AMS 8150 Ex produce a Zero-Air volume of 600 Nl/h. This high volume of generated Zero-Air makes these instruments one of the most powerful devices commercially available.

The Heat exchanger:
To increase the effectivity of the system the Zero-Air Generator AMS 8100 and AMS 8150 Ex are equipped with a counterflow heat exchanger in the gas pathway. Due to the specific cross section of the heat exchanger the inlet air is heated to 300 °C, while the Zero-Air at the outlet is only 35 °C. A Mol sieve at the outlet of the Zero-Air generators cleans off finally condensate and nitric oxides.

Operation in hazardous areas:
The purge unit is mounted on the outside of the wall-mounting and monitors the internal pressure of the housing. The min. factory setting of the internal housing pressure is 0,8 mbar (g). This reliably prevents hazardous atmosphere from entering the enclosure. All internal pneumatically components are connected with stainless steel pipes via ferrule packs.

All internal electrical components are switched off if the pressure drops below the min. housing pressure of 0,8 mbar (g).

For the suitable use in Ex-Zone 2 the enclosure with internal electronic / pneumatic components is reliably protected with a certified Ex-p Purge unit against an entering of hazardous atmosphere.

Certification: ATEX II 3G Ex pz IIB+H2 T3


Technical data

Catalytic air purifier AMS 8100 / AMS 8150 Ex
Principle catalytic oxydation
Catalyst Pt/Pd on granulated Al2O3
Inlet pressure 15 bar (abs.)
Operating pressure 3 bar (abs.)
Gas flow Max. 900 Nl/h
Special version 3.000 Nl/h
Time for pre-heating appr. 30 min.
Reactor temperature appr. 400°C
Gas connection 6 mm ferrule pack
Power supply 230 VAC 50/60 Hz
Power consumption 600 VA
Hi / Low Alarm temperature, potential-free relay, 24 V / 0.3 A
Flow monitoring  
AMS 8100 (Option) potential-free relay, 60 V / 1 A
AMS 8150 (Standard) potential-free relay, 60 V / 1 A
Dimensions HxWxT  
AMS 8100 166 x 520 x 400 mm or 19" rack
AMS 8150 380 x 600 x 400 mm (WxHxT)
Purification of water and nitrogen oxides Molecular sieve
Cleaning the air at the device input (option) Oil separator, Dust filter
Version: AMS 8100 E V-2019-02

AMS 8100 / AMS 8150 Ex

Die Anwendung:
Die Katalytischen Nullluftgeneratoren der Baureihe AMS 8100 und AMS 8150 Ex sind Generatoren für kohlenwasserstoff- und kohlenmonoxidfreies „Nullgas“. Die Hauptanwendung des AMS 8100 und AMS 8150 Ex ist die Erzeugung von kohlenwasserstoff- und kohlenmonoxidfreier Brenner- und Steuerluft für FID sowie für Gaschromatographen.

Das AMS 8100 und AMS 8150 Ex entfernt CO quantitativ aus der Umgebungsluft. Diese sogenannte Nullluft ist zur Nullpunktkorrektur von CO-Analysatoren geeignet, die zur Überwachung der Umgebungsluft eingesetzt werden.

AMS 8100 / AMS 8150

Der Katalysator:
Das Funktionsprinzip in den katalytischen Nullluftgeneratoren AMS 8100 und AMS 8150 Ex ist die katalytische Oxidation. Der Katalysator besteht aus Pt/Pd, das auf granuliertes Aluminiumoxid aufgedampft wird. Im katalytischen Reaktor wird der Katalysator auf ca. 400°C beheizt. Da diese Temperatur deutlich unter der Zündtemperatur der meisten Kohlenwasserstoffe sowie Wasserstoff und Kohlendioxid liegt, ist der Betrieb der AMS Nullluftgeneratoren auch im Ex-Bereich möglich.

Der katalytische Reaktor:
Das Katalysatorgranulat befindet sich, eng gepackt, in einem gewendelten Rohr und wird mit Hilfe eines Infrarotstrahlers aufgeheizt. Aufgrund der speziellen Geometrie des Reaktors mäandert die Luft durch das Katalysatorgranulat. Der Verweilzeit der designierten Nullluft im Reaktor kommt hierbei eine besondere Bedeutung zu. Die katalytischen Nullluftgeneratoren AMS 8100 und AMS 8150 Ex generieren eine Nullluftmenge von 900 Nl/h. Damit gehören sie zu den leistungsstärksten Geräten dieser Art.

Der Wärmetauscher:
Zur Erhöhung der Systemeffektivität kommt in den Nullluftgeneratoren AMS 8100 und AMS 8150 Ex ein Gegenstromwärmetauscher im Gasweg zum Einsatz. Aufgrund des speziellen Querschnitts des Wärmetauschers wird eine Vorwärmung der Zuluft auf 300°C sowie eine Abkühlung der Nullluft auf 35°C erreicht. Die Nullluft wird am Ausgang des Nullgasgenerators in einem Molekularsieb von Wasser und Stickoxiden gereinigt.

Einsatz im Ex Bereich:
Die Spüleinheit ist von außen an das Wandaufbaugehäuse montiert und überwacht den Gehäuseinnendruck. Werkseitig ist der min. Gehäuseinnendruck auf 0,8 mbar(g) eingestellt. Dadurch wird zuverlässig vermieden, dass explosionsfähige Atmosphäre in das Gehäuse eindringen kann. Alle innen liegenden pneumatischen Teile sind über Edelstahlrohrleitungen mit Klemmringverschraubungen miteinander verbunden.

Bei Druckverlust unterhalb des minimalen Gehäusedrucks von 0,8 mbar(g) werden alle im Gehäuse befindlichen elektrischen Verbraucher abgeschaltet.

Für den Einsatz in Ex-Zone 2 wird das Gehäuse mit den innenliegenden elektronischen / pneumatischen Komponenten durch eine zugelassene Ex-p-Spüleinheit zuverlässig gegen das Eindringen von explosionsfähiger Atmosphäre geschützt.

0Zulassung: ATEX II 3G Ex pz IIB+H2 T3


Technische Daten

Katalytischer Luftreiniger AMS 8100 / AMS 8150
Funktionsprinzip Katalytische Oxidation
Katalysator Pt/Pd auf granuliertem Al2O3
Eingangsdruck 15 bar (absolut)
Betriebsdruck 3 bar (absolut)
Gasdurchfluss max. 900 Nl/h
Spezialversion: 3.000 Nl/h
Aufwärmphase ca. 30 min.
Reaktortemperatur ca. 400°C
Gasanschluß 6 mm Klemmringverschraubung
Spannungsversorgung 230 VAC 50/60 Hz
Leistungsaufnahme 600 VA
Hi / Low Alarm Temperatur, potentialfreies Relais, 24 V / 0,3 A
Durchflussüberwachung  
AMS 8100 (Option) Potentialfreies Relais, 60 V / 1A
AMS 8150 (Standard) Potentialfreies Relais, 60 V / 1A
Abmessungen HxBxT  
AMS 8100 166 x 520 x 400 mm oder 19" Einschub
AMS 8150 Ex 380 x 600 x 400 mm (BxHxT)
Reinigung von Wasser und Stickoxiden Molekularsieb
Reinigung der Luft am Geräteeingang (Option) Ölabscheider, Staubfilter
Version: AMS 8100 V1-2019-02